Log in

Peg Newton Smith Lifetime Achievement Awardees

Established in 2003, the Peg Newton Smith Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes significant and ongoing contributions to the preservation of Arkansas heritage through a lifelong – 20 years or more - involvement in, and commitment to, the museum community and other cultural organizations with a significant portion of that service occurring in Arkansas. In addition to employment service, volunteer service to the profession through associations and similar organizations will be considered. The nominees need not be currently employed nor living in the state. Nominations of eligible individuals who have retired or will retire within a year of the Annual Meeting are very appropriate.





Bill Gatewood

Old Statehouse Museum
 2019Elizabeth GainesArkansas Railroad Museum
 2018Steve RuckerArkansas National Guard Museum


Andrew Zawacki 

Historic Arkansas Museum


Neva Boatright 

Lower White River Museum State Park 


Judith Stewart-Abernathy

Arkansas Tech University Museum 


Starr Mitchell 

Historic Arkansas Museum


Allyn Lord 

Shiloh Museum of Ozark History 


Bill Worthen 

Historic Arkansas Museum


Cathie Matthews 

Department of Arkansas Heritage 


Richard Davies 

Arkansas Parks and Tourism 


Ruth Hawkins 

Arkansas State University Museum 


Stephen Recken 

University of Arkansas at Little Rock 


Mary Fletcher Worthen 

Historic Arkansas Museum 


Charlott Jones 

Arkansas State University Museum 


Peggy Hoffman

University of Arkansas 


Bobbie Heffington

Department of Arkansas Heritage


John Ferguson

Arkansas History Commission

Nomination process:

To nominate someone to be considered for the Peg Newton Smith Award, please send the follow to

a) The name, address and telephone number of the nominee

b) A brief summary of the nominee’s accomplishments and an explanation of why he or she should be considered for the Peg Newton Smith award – up to one page of narrative, typed, double spaced

d) One-page letters in support of the nominee from two ‘seconding’ museum professionals

e) Relevant support materials, such as the nominee’s current resume, previous honors, etc.

f) Your name as nominator, plus address and telephone; date of submittal.

Arkansas Museums Association
P. O. Box 3292
Little Rock, Arkansas 72203


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software